Resolutions 2013

Resolution in support of the restoration of the Single Subject Theater Credential

Whereas arts education is an essential part of the regular curriculum in all California schools; and

Whereas Theater and Dance remain the only two core subject areas (as designated by the ESEA) in the state of California that have standards without dedicated credential programs to support their implementation; and

Whereas Theater teachers should have the same subject specific training as other subject areas teachers so that the tens of thousands of students currently studying Theater in California schools can have the same highly qualified teachers as students in Music, Visual Arts, English, Mathematics, Science and History/Social Studies; and

Whereas Superintendent Torlakson’s arts education task force has recommended the restoration of a Theater credential; and

Whereas the most recent Teacher Advisory Panel to the Commission on Teacher Credentialing has also recommended the restoration of a Theater credential;

Be it therefore resolved that CATE (California Association of Teachers of English) urge the Commission on Teacher Credentialing to accept these recommendations and reinstate the Single Subject Theater Credential.


Gai Jones, past president of CETA,
Linda Darling-Hammond, Chair, Commission on Teacher Credentialing

CATE 2013: Board Resolution
Commendation of the Convention Committee

This convention happens only because of the efforts of many teachers and other volunteers who donate their time and energy to make this weekend possible.

Let it be resolved that the California Association of Teachers of English (CATE) thank and commend the following outstanding volunteers and members of the convention committee:

Convention Co-ChairsMegan Petersen and Maggie Potter
Central Catholic High School, Modesto
Convention Coordinators Michelle Berry, Retired, Windsor High School
Senior Convention Coordinator Punky Fristrom, Retired, San Diego Unified School District
Program ChairCarole LeCren
La Jolla High School, San Diego
Autograph Chair Kathy Nichols
Pleasanton Middle School, Pleasanton
Registration ChairRichard Hockensmith, Summit High School, Fontana
Hospitality ChairTrevor Guina
Central Catholic High School, Modesto
Volunteer CoordinatorsAngus Dunstan, CSU Sacramento, Sacramento
Bill Foreman, CSU, Stanislaus, Turlock
College Credit Chair Jonathan Lovell, San Jose State
Local Committee ChairsSusan Dillon, Central Catholic High School, Modesto
Technology/AV Chair Robert Chapman, Eureka High School, Eureka
Meals/Décor ChairCharleen Delfino, Retired, San Jose State University
CATE Membership BoothJoan Williams, Retired, Arcata High School, Eureka
Pre-Convention Jayne Marlink, California Writing Project, Berkeley
Photographer Ron Lauderbach, Retired, San Ysidro High School, San Diego
WebmasterCindy Conlin
LiasonMichelle Berry, Windsor High School
SignsDavid Ryan, CSU, Bakersfield